Ride For Heart, 75km: ✓

My bum hurts so much right now. Seriously, I can’t sit down. This is what I get for not training enough! All of my concentration was on running and I neglected cycling until last week :( It’s ok, though, the pain will pass, and it was well worth it! So hubby and I got up at 5am, had breakfast and off we went. We conveniently parked at my office which is super close to the CNE (oh, the joys of owning a car!) and when Armando arrived, we made our way down the street.

The 75km start is much better than the 50km, even if it meant getting up an hour and a half earlier; there’s no crowds and the majority of all cyclists aren’t messing around — no strollers or fixies. This route is great for practices, it’s so smooth and there’s lots of various elevation. Avery zoomed off as soon as we hit the Gardiner because he’s using this opportunity to train for his half-Ironman at the end of the month. I was with Armando ’til about 16km in, then his chain came loose! I didn’t want to stop so I told him to catch up to me. He saw me at the first turnaround at York Mills but since I didn’t need the rest station, I kept going and he couldn’t find me after I went off the ramp. Sorry, bud!

I was solo for the rest of the 60km and I missed having someone to talk to! I never listen to music when I ride so I regret not waiting for Armando but I really wanted to see how long it would take me to do the entire 75km without rests. So luckily, the weather couldn’t have been more perfect and the scenery was pretty. I did 50km in 2009 but on my mountain bike so it was really tough, and last year after I bought my road bike I tried for the 75km but because of the horrible torrential downpour, I didn’t finish… so the sunshine today was ideal!

A few guys tried to make small talk with me but I wasn’t interested after their failed pick-up lines. Then at the second turnaround at Bayview, this one dude asked if I was riding with anyone, and since I couldn’t lie, I told him I was by myself. At this point I wasn’t going very fast, there was about 15km left and I was starting to get really tired, so I complied. We chit-chatted about the typical things when you first meet someone, and it’s weird but I use any chance I get to mention Avery whenever I’m talking to random guys. Not saying every dude that talks to me is trying to hit on me, but most of the time when I’m not wearing my rings, it happens. With 7km left, I didn’t want to talk anymore… I started slowing down behind a pack of people about to exit the 25km/50km route and lost him as I continued west on the hwy.

I finished the full 75km in 3 hours and 23 minutes, which is a damn long time to be on a bike!!! Avery finished a full hour before me, lol. He’ll have to keep this pace up for his insane triathlon… a half-Ironman is 2km swim, 90km bike and 21.1km run (a half-marathon!). Crazy… and he knows it.

We gobbled up bananas, bagels, juiceboxes, and headed home. The drive back was surprisingly fast, we took the dogs out quickly and relaxed on our new love seat lounger we bought for the deck yesterday — it swings! We ended up napping for a bit… Avery’s still asleep actually. We marinated steaks last night so I’m ridiculously looking forward to dinner right now! Starting to get really hungry…

More info about the ride from 680 News: CLICK! and from the official site: CLICK!

Oh, side note… GO CANUCKS!!! GO MAVS!!!

4 Comments

Filed under Sports

4 responses to “Ride For Heart, 75km: ✓

  1. Jackie

    yup. haha… it’s been a while. i don’t follow any sports now. i only recently found out he’s on the Mavs

  2. Jackie

    LOL. speaking of Go Mavs: my old favourite player is now on your fave team. :)

Leave a Reply

