I’m 29!

The Drake makes the amazing carrot cakes! Thanks, Andersons and Angela!

Silly Sleepy Bowsie

…and this is what I feel like right now. I’m so tired I can barely hold my head up. Madeline has turned into such a loud sleeper, I was up was ’til 4am this morning. When you’re a mom, your hearing ability heightens to a new level when it comes to your baby. I don’t always hear hubby leaving for work in the morning but if Madeline makes so much as a tiny peep in the middle of the night, I spring up like a jack-in-the-box and dash to her room… only to find her sound asleep, making noises from having a dream. Amazing. But Saturday was my doing, she was forced out of her routine all afternoon because my brother, hubby and I did this:

HOLLAH!!! 351m above ground!!!

The CN Tower Edgewalk!!! It was so much fun! I’d do it again in a heartbeat! The only time I was nervous was right before we walked out (they take you into a room after you come out of the elevator and there’s just a glass door separating you from DEATH before you’re roped into the grigri).  But as soon as you’re outside, you’re in such awe you forget to be scared. It was surreal. If someone told me two decades ago while I was eating at the 360 restaurant with my family that I’d be able to walk the circumference of the roof OUTSIDE in the future, there’s no way I would’ve believed them. Now look at where we are! The cost is a tad pricey but the experience is worth every penny. It was Karon’s second time, he was lucky to go before it opened to the public last year during a media preview. Read his write up for The Grid HERE. Thanks for the wildest birthday gift, little bro and hubby!

Hellooo Toronto! (I’m the short one in the middle)

So, I haven’t ran at all since my race, mainly because baby girl decided I don’t deserve a full night’s rest anymore. I really should try to get out there a few more times before it gets too chilly. I could use the treadmill but it’s not snowing yet so I might as well go out. Hubby placed 4th in his category and 15th overall at the Oakville Half last weekend! He finished with a 1:21:26 despite the crappy, wet and windy weather. STWM is coming up, hubby is crazy and is running the full before the NYC Marathon just 3 weeks after. A bunch of our friends are doing the half and 5k but I won’t be able to watch them at the finish this year. Madeline and I will be watching Avery at the 36k mark (as per usual), and there’s no way I’ll be able to make it downtown in time with all the road closures, and I’m not even going to bother taking TTC.

I’m excited for baby’s first plane ride, only because I’m optimistically thinking she won’t cry or make a scene. This, of course, is wishful thinking but it’s the only way I’ll be able to make it through the reality of what is actually going to happen.

‘Til next time! Hope you all enjoy your week :)

2 Comments

Filed under Animals, Baby, Birthday, Family, Parenthood, Photos, Sports

2 responses to “I’m 29!

  1. Happy birthday Queenie! I also remember those sounds that little babies make. Man, they are not quiet sleepers at all. And it’s so true that our hearing is on some sonar level where if they even make the smallest sound we’re rushing over there haha. It’s worse when you start hearing things in your head, or you think that the dishwasher is your kid crying lol. Either way, glad you had a great birthday! Good luck on the plane!

    • Thanks, Nina! Last night I heard some squeals so I rushed to the nursery half-asleep thinking I was in for another crying session… turns out the cats were playing on the stairs. Sigh!

      Is your hearing still on this level right now? I’m curious to find out if it will be even more heightened once your twins arrive!

Leave a Reply

